Leadership & Staff

Save The Bay is a group of dedicated professionals with one goal in mind: To protect, restore and help people explore the beauty of our state's most valuable natural resource.

Executive Director

Jonathan Stone
Jonathan Stone

After growing up in suburban Boston and spending summers on Buzzards Bay, Stone first moved to Rhode Island in 1976 to attend Brown University. In 1989 he returned to Rhode Island after earning an MBA at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Business Administration and working in manufacturing in Seattle and Boston. His love for the ocean brought him to back Rhode Island in 1989 where he promptly joined Save The Bay (STB) as a member and swimmer.

For most of the next 19 years Stone commuted to Boston, where in 1991 he embarked on a career in financial services, first as a securities analyst and later as an investment manager. His investment work included research on a broad variety of industries, including high technology, energy, and transportation. In 2000 he co-founded a premier investment management company, Lee Munder Capital Group, and managed investment portfolios for private and institutional clients. Over the next eight years Lee Munder Capital Group grew to its pension, endowment, and private wealth assets under management to about $4 billion.

Throughout these years, he fished, kayaked and swam in Narragansett Bay and was an active Save The Bay member. He served on the board of the Gordon School in East Providence for many years in many capacities, including Board Chair. In early 2008, he retired from the investment business and began teaching at Providence College. At the beginning of 2009 he took up the mantle as Save The Bay’s fourth Executive Director, fulfilling a personal mission to dedicate his time and experience to protecting and restoring Narragansett Bay.

“My dad always encouraged me to view every turn in life as an opportunity to learn and grow. My investment career taught me the importance of taking the long view when trying to affect change. And my experience at the Gordon School underscored lessons of good governance and community support in improving the quality of life in Rhode Island,” recalls Jonathan.

Stone is in his sixth year as Executive Director of Save The Bay. He is an avid outdoorsman, is married with two children, and lives in Providence.

Advocacy & Restoration Staff

Topher Hamblett Topher Hamblett
Director of Advocacy & Policy
Kendra Beaver
Staff Attorney
Rachel Calabro
Narragansett Bay Riverkeeper
David Prescott
South County Coastkeeper
Tom Kutcher Mike Jarbeau
Narragansett Baykeeper
Wenley Ferguson
Director of Habitat Restoration

Communications & Marketing Staff

Cindy Sabato, APR
Communications Director
Matt Vieira
Social Media and Marketing Manager

Development & Outreach Staff

  Jacqueline Carlson
Membership & Individual Giving Manager
  Joan Abrams
Major Gifts Officer
  Tammy Camillo
Part-time Grants Writer
  Stephany Hessler
Grants & Foundations Manager

Education Staff

Bridget Kubis Prescott
Director of Education
Grainne Conley
Education Program Manager
Jennifer Kelly
After School Program Manager
Dan Blount Dan Blount
Education Specialist & BayCamp Director
Adam Kovarsky
Exploration Center Manager
Meghan Kelly Meghan Kelly
Education Specialist
Aly Karaczynski
Education Specialist
Eric Pfirrmann
Lead Captain
 Dan Blount Kati Maginel
Education Specialist/Captain
Dan Blount Lauren Farnsworth
Education Specialist
 Dan Blount Celina Segala
Education Specialist/Outreach Coordinator
Dan Blount Jess Bornstein
Education Specialist

Finance Staff

Katharine Estes
Director of Finance
Nicole Delos
Accounting Manager

Operations Staff

Maureen Fogarty Maureen Fogarty
Senior Director of Operations
Josh Cherwinski
IT Manager
Stan Dimock
Operations Assistant
Leanne Danielsen Leanne Danielsen
Events Manager
 July Lewis July Lewis
Volunteer & Intern Manager
Leslie Munson
Administrative Assistant
Mike Russo
Facilities Manager

Board of Directors



Cynthia J. Butler

President, Butler & Associates

Vice President

Gail A. Ginnetty

Vice President

Justin DeShaw

Senior Vice President, Citizens Bank

Vice President

Cheryl Nathanson

Vice President

Aidan Petrie

Co-Founder & Chief Innovation Officer, Ximedica


Eugene McDermott, Esq.

Locke Lord LLP


Steve Geremia

Principal, LGC&D



Laura Bottaro, Esq.

Attorney, Bottaro Law Firm, LLC

George Coleman

Vice President, CVS Health

Gilbert Conover, Jr.

Joseph "Bud" Cummings

Stephen Gerencser

Jenn Harris

John Kaplin

Howard Kilguss

President, HK Associates

Christopher P. Lee

F. Paul Mooney, Jr.

President, The Discovery Mint

Alan Nathan

Retired businessman, Commissioner Narragansett Bay Comission

Warren Prell

Professor of Oceanography, Brown University

George W. Shuster, Jr.


Alisson Walsh

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is comprised of trusted advisors with a longtime commitment to the organization.


Joan Abrams

Trudy Coxe

Kate Kilguss

Sarah Beinecke Richardson

Dr. Vincent Rose

H. Curtis Spalding

Ellicott Wright

President's Leadership Council

The President's Leadership Council (PLC) assists Save The Bay by providing expertise, perspective, contacts and resources to further our mission.


Joan C. Abrams, Co-Chair

Kate Kilguss, Co-Chair

Ruud Bosman

Nick and Wendy Bowen

Timothy Burns

Duncan and Barbara Chapman

Jemma Craig

Denise Dangremond

Elizabeth M. Delude-Dix

Joseph DiBattista

Bradford S. Dimeo

Patrick Driscoll

Anne G. Earle

Jonathan D. Fain

Michael Foley

Mark J. Formica

Leslie Gardner

Thomas P. I. Goddard

Bob and Robin Hall

Peter Hallock

Alan G. Hassenfeld

C. Michael Hazard

David and Susan Hibbitt

Mr. & Mrs. Richard Higginbotham

Jennifer Hosmer

Michael Keyworth

Sanne Kure-Jensen

John Laramee

Brooke Lee

Raymond T. Mancini

Brad Miller

Raymond F. Murphy, Jr.

Joop and Ria Nagtegaal

Alice M. Nichols

Elizabeth Prince de Ramel

Jeffrey Rasmussen

Michael Rauh

Sarah Beinecke Richardson

Marty Roberts

Nancy Safer

Robert Savoie

Laura Turner Seydel

George and Stephanie Shuster

Jeffrey Siegal

Eric R. C. Smith

Hon. O. Rogeriee Thompson

Philip Torgan

William Vareika

Kenneth W. Washburn

Ellicott Wright