quick links

PROVIDENCE, RI  (November 8, 2005) The Phoenix Award™ Executive Committee has announced that Save The Bay is among national winners of its annual Phoenix Awards™, which recognizes excellence in brownfields redevelopment. Winners represent outstanding brownfields projects from each of the 10 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regions.

Created in 1997, this prestigious award honors individuals and groups who are working to solve the critical environmental challenge of transforming abandoned industrial areas into productive new uses. The Phoenix Awards™ are widely recognized as the outstanding award for achievement of excellence in brownfields redevelopment, and often are called "the brownfields equivalent of Hollywood's Oscars."

“It’s gratifying to me that Save The Bay is the Region I recipient of the Phoenix Award for excellence in brownfields redevelopment,” stated Rhode Island Governor Donald L. Carcieri. “By breathing new life into an abandoned, contaminated site and by building a new, state-of-the-art, green building, Save The Bay stands as a role model for all to follow. I am very pleased that the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation and the Department of Environmental Management provided Save The Bay with support to make this facility a reality.”

Save The Bay was the first recipient of a brownfields loan from the Brownfields Cleanup Revolving Loan Fund Pilot grant awarded to the Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation, along with partner the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in 2000.

The redevelopment of the site – a former municipal dump at the southern tip of Fields Point in Providence – completed in May 2005, includes classrooms, exhibit areas, meeting rooms and administrative space. The waterfront site demonstrates principles of stormwater management, coastal buffer plants and salt marsh restoration.

"EPA is proud to celebrate Save The Bay's selection as a Phoenix Award winner," said Robert W. Varney, regional administrator of EPA's New England office. "Brownfields represent a great success story because of the collaboration between local, state and federal government, private industry and involved citizens, all working together to clean up once-blighted areas and return them to productive use for communities. All Rhode Islanders should be proud that one of their local groups has achieved this recognition."

"By transforming a former industrial wasteland into one of the most beautiful and multi-functional facilities in Providence, Save The Bay has showcased the immense potential of our waterfront," said Providence Mayor David N. Cicilline." That achievement, which this prestigious award recognizes, inspires all of us to raise our sights for what we can achieve on our waterfront to boost livability and the economic prosperity of our region."
Governor Donald Carcieri and Save The Bay Board President Alden Anderson

The awards are open to any individual, group, company, organization, government body or agency. Criteria for The Phoenix Awards™ focus on the magnitude of the project, innovative techniques, solutions to regulatory issues, and impact upon the community. A panel of environmental professionals and business, academic and government leaders select the winners.

“This award signifies what government can accomplish by working with community groups such as Save The Bay and the generous individual and corporate sponsors who have made this project possible,” said Save The Bay Executive Director Curt Spalding. “We have, quite literally, turned a landfill into a landmark. Our new classrooms and meeting space are a platform for Bay education, but the brownfields reclamation – the site itself – represents a model for environmentally sound shoreline development that will inspire and guide Bay communities for generations.’’ 

The 2005 Phoenix Award winners are:

Region 1: Save The Bay Center, Providence, Rhode Island
Region 2: Rheingold Brewery Redevelopment Project, Brooklyn, New York (the NYC Department of Housing Preservation and Development and its partners)
Region 3: Chester Waterfront Redevelopment Project, Chester, Pennsylvania
Region 4: Johnnie Ruth-Clarke Health Center, St. Petersburg, Florida
Region 5: Phalen Corridor, St. Paul, Minnesota
Region 6: Pinnacle Park Redevelopment Park, Dallas, Texas
Region 7: Port of Dubuque, Dubuque, Iowa
Region 8: Platte River Commons & Salt Creek Heights Business Center, Casper, Wyoming
Region 9: Petco Park & The East Village Redevelopment Project, San Diego, California
Region 10: Rainier Court, Seattle, Washington.

“We were pleased to nominate Save The Bay for this penultimate award,” stated Michael McMahon, Executive Director, Rhode Island Economic Development Corporation (RIEDC). “It has been our firm belief that this project will have many long-term economic benefits for the community, bringing jobs, visitors and new life to the Providence waterfront area, and the surrounding neighborhoods of South Providence, Washington Park and Elmwood. This project stands as a national model with many valuable lessons for others to learn from with respect to developing abandoned and contaminated land.”

To learn more information about The Phoenix Awards™, visit www.phoenixawards.org.

Bookmark and Share

20,000 potential new marine biologists, beachgoers and sailors every year.

 Possible with your support. Learn more.